Medical Malpractice Insurance Primer
North Carolina Medical Malpractice Basics
- The top five malpractice providers account for approximately 84% of the market.
- Number of medical professional liability insurers in the state in 2013: 97
- Total number of active physicians as of September 2014: 24,476
In 2011, North Carolina enacted tort reform legislation, which became effective on October 1, 2011. This bill limited non-economic damages to $500,000 and, beginning in 2014, this amount will be adjusted upward for inflation each year. The cap will not apply in cases where the injured patient suffered disfiguring or permanent injury, and the defendants conduct was considered reckless, grossly negligent, intentional, or malicious.
Like most states, North Carolina does not limit economic damages, those that cover actual losses. However, there is a requirement that there be two trials if the number of damages claimed is greater than $150,000, unless the judge finds reason to combine them. Both trials are heard by the same judge, but one focuses on liability while the other focuses on the amount of damages.
North Carolina also incorporated a severability clause into their damage limit which allows that if the damage cap is ever held to be unconstitutional by the court, the remainder of the act will not be affected.
Finally, North Carolina mandates a pre-trial mediated settlement conference for all civil cases.
Statute of Limitations
In North Carolina, the basic statute of limitations is three years from the date of the alleged injury, or the date of the last treatment for the issue that gave rise to the alleged injury. If the injury was not immediately discovered, the claimant has up to an additional year to bring a claim, but no claim can be brought more than four years after the date of the alleged injury.
An exception to the above is that in cases where a foreign object was left in the body, a claim must be brought within one year from the date of discovery but can be brought up to 10 years from the date of the injury.
In cases where the injured party is a minor under the age of 10 years old, a claim can be brought on the child’s behalf any time prior to their 10th birthday. As in most states, the statute may be tolled, or paused, during a period where a claimant is mentally incompetent to bring a claim.
Finally, wrongful death actions must be brought within 2 years of the death of the patient.
Summary of the North Carolina Medical Malpractice Insurance Market
Since 2003, malpractice insurance rates in North Carolina have stabilized and are now considered fairly moderate. In the last 5-10 years, this state has seen an increase in competition between insurance carriers, which in turn, has furthered rate reductions. In addition, the proactive approach to increasing damage caps with inflation may help insulate the provision from the legal challenges we’ve seen in so many other states. Overall, North Carolina’s risk environment and medical malpractice insurance market appear to be stable for the foreseeable future.
External Links & Resources for North Carolina Physicians & Surgeons
- North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS)
- North Carolina Medical Board
- North Carolina Osteopathic Medical Association (NCOMA)
- North Carolina Hospital Association (NCHA)
- NCMS Foundation
- NCMS Alliance
Want to learn more about medical malpractice insurance policies in your state? Call our main office in St. Louis, Missouri, at (855) 823-5283 for all your questions about malpractice policies in North Carolina. Get your free quote today!
START SAVING NOW!
Fill out the form below to request your free, no-obligation quotes or call us toll-free at (855) 823-5283 today.
Why Choose eQuoteMD™ to Obtain Lower Premiums for Medical Malpractice Insurance for your Practice?
Multiple Rate Quotes
Average Savings over 20%
Quality Coverage Guaranteed
Occurrence or Claims-Made
Tail Coverage Policies
Every Specialty & Facility
For first year physicians
Top Rated Companies